Whoa is me!

Rap music has a bad reputation. Rap music is in need of a heavy dose of public relations.

When many think of rap music images of violence, sex, money, vanity, cars and diamond studded earrings and teeth float in their heads.

Really? Does this sum up rap music? Is this it’s only appeal?

ABSOLUTELY NOT!

Rap music does not lead to aggressive, reckless or promiscuous behaviour.

As someone who listens and is successful, respected and not materialistic by any means, I can vouch for rap music.

Rap music is not to be viewed as tasteless or low brow. Rap music is not about the ideas of getting rich and not giving a F***.

It’s about you embracing your inner G and showcasing your swagger to its fullest potential. It’s about developing a state of self-confidence within yourself and to prove my point I’ve done my research and by looking at lyrics fairly closely, I’ve found that rap music is really about promoting self-esteem.

Example #1: Lupe Fiasco-I’m Beaming

“Failures my last name, nevers my first one.”

Example #2: Kanye West featuring Young Jeezy

“I’m amazin’, yeah, I’m all that.
If I ain’t on my grind then what you call that?
Victorious, yeah, we warriors
We make history, strive off victory.”

Example #3: Jay-Z featuring Mr. Hudson-Forever Young

“Leave a mark they can’t erase.”

Example #4: Drake featuring Lil Wayne, Eminem and Kanye West-Forever

“Establishing a name as he goes… the passion and the flame is ignited.”

Example #5: Eminem-Not afraid

“I’mma be what I set out to be, without a doubt undoubtedly.”

“I’m not afraid to take a stand.
Everybody come take my hand.
We’ll walk this road together, through the storm
Whatever weather, cold or warm.
Just let you know that, you’re not alone.
Holla if you feel that you’ve been down the same road.”

See…rap music is positive. Hopefully these lyrics proved to be uplifting.

X O X O

BB

Leave a Reply

