Belle’s Night Out: School Bakery and Cafe

Well, it’s been several years since I was a high school student.

The uniforms, the school bells, the bus rides and classes, all are but a distant memory now. Well maybe not distant memory, I’m not that old. But it does seem long ago.

It’s these thoughts that come to my mind whenever anyone mentions the word “school”. I do not think of university, I do not think of college, no I think of high school. Why? well those seem to be the best years of your life.

So with this sense of nostalgia, you could only imagine my delight when I learned of a restaurant called School…School Bakery and Cafe.

For the first time, my fiancée happily accompanied me to “school” without any hesitation.

Upon arrival, it’s almost impossible not to recognize the decor. Over a dozen clocks align a brick wall of the restaurants interior, all frozen to 3:30 p.m.

Not to mention chalkboards, pencils, apples, menus which come on clipboards
and staff wearing black school girl kilts and knee-high socks. Who can resist?

The food is also reasonably priced. We got a hamburger with fries and a caesar salad with barbecue chicken, which came out to $30. Not bad for a restaurant, right?

Oh, and get this, your bill comes in a report card envelope. Clever!

If you’re looking for a yummy treat on budget, School Bakery and Cafe is just the place for you. It’s more than just a place to go and grab dinner. There are so many yummy desserts…which I didn’t get a chance to try but will when I go back.

I also love the fact they have a “detention cocktail hour” that begins at 3:30 p.m.

So if your ever in the mood for nostalgia or just hungry or heading for an after work drink with your co-workers, check out School Bakery and Cafe located at 70 Fraser Ave., Liberty Village, Toronto.

Liberty Village is also a perfect area to take a stroll in. There are so many lovely restaurants, bars and condos.

X O X O

BB

6 thoughts on “Belle’s Night Out: School Bakery and Cafe

Leave a Reply

