Cover Girl: Zooey Deschanel for Allure

Zooey Deschanel, known best for her role on the hit television series The New Girl and as the talented vocalist behind the band She and Him, graces the cover of Allure magazine’s February 2012 issue. The 32-year-old babe looks beyond adorable on cover in Louis Vuitton dress.

The lovely Zooey chats with the magazine about her signature hair style, her new “it girl” status and on heartbreak. She recently  divorced from Death Cab For Cutie frontman Ben Gibbard. But despite the ups and downs, Zooey has managed to keep a positive attitude.

Check out some excerpts from her interview with Allure:

On her signature hair style:
“I’m bangs and eyes,” she says. “It’s who I am. There have been periods when I’ve grown my bangs out, but I always cut them back, so it’s like, why go through the trouble?”

On being more like New Girl character Jess than most of the other characters she’s played:
“Because I have brown hair and a low voice, I would get cast as dry, sarcastic, ironic people, which I can do, but it’s not my sense of humor. I’m a very positive person. I get excited easily, and I like to jump around.”

On protecting herself from online gossip and mean comments:
“I can’t go on Gawker. I actually think the writing is really funny, but there is a chance that somebody is undercutting me.”
On being feminine:
“If you feel like dressing like a girl, there’s nothing wrong with that. I don’t know why femininity should be associated with weakness. Women should be free to express who they are without thinking, I need to act like a man,or I need to tone it down to be successful. That’s a very good way to keep women down.”

On not being obsessed with her weight:
“Some people around me, they’re like 89 pounds. I’m not going to say I’m a big girl. I’m a very small person, but I’m a healthy weight. That might be a little weird for Hollywood.”

On dealing with heartache:
“I’d probably just go get out of my house. If I’m sad, I listen to happy music.”

On finding irony in the label “It” girl:
“‘It’ girl is supposed to be something that only lasts a certain amount of time. They keep calling me an ‘It’ girl, and at this point it makes me laugh, because they’ve done that so many times: ‘You’re it’; ‘you’re not it.’ What is ‘it’?”

Very gorgeous, Zooey Deschanel sports red lipstick and her signature bangs hairstyle. Photographed by Norman Jean Roy.

Isn’t she lovely?

X O X O

BB

10 thoughts on “Cover Girl: Zooey Deschanel for Allure

  1. i got a little disappointed with the new girl.. i do like zoey though, the show is a little too retarded.. she can do better… it will hopefully get more interesting.. however ilike her other acts and the style is indeed reallzy nice. i loved her dress on the goldenglobes btw…

    xx
    anna

Leave a Reply

